“Pick A Random Photo From Your Phone And Write About It”

Photo of me in OCPs while reading a book.

I remember feeling peaceful when I took this photo and sent it to my wife. I was reading a book and smoking a cigarette. I usually don’t smoke anymore, but when you’re out in the field, it’s always nice to have a cigarette now and again.

We had been out in the field for two weeks, from November 6th – November 21. This photo was taken on day five.

My three-year-old son asked me on day two if I was in jail, and I told him, no buddy, dad’s in the field for work. He then asked me if I still loved him because I was always gone for work, which struck a nerve in my heart.

I also knew that my grandpa could pass at any moment of heart failure, and this field problem took away one last chance to go hunting together. He passed away on Nov. 26th.

I’d been reading as much as I could to take my mind off of everything that I had going on. I love to read. I always have to force myself to slow down and take in each word. I’m always in high gear, and reading slows me down. After each chapter, I take time to reflect on the characters and everything that’s happened so far. If I couldn’t remember what I had read because I didn’t slow myself down enough, I’d go back and reread it.

I am hoping everyone has a great holiday season.

Leave a Comment